Electrical and Computer Engineering

College of Engineering

Spring 2021 Newsletter

5500 Campanile Drive San Diego, CA 92182-1309 Phone: (619) 594-7013 electrical.sdsu.edu

GIVING



Johnsons Make Gift to Endow fred harris Chair in DSP

Peggy (BSEE 1985) and Eric Johnson (MSEE 1986) have made a \$3,100,000 gift to name and endow the fred harris Chair in Digital Signal Processing (DSP). Peggy is CEO of Magic Leap, a spatial computing company. Eric is an angel investor. They met at SDSU. Grateful for their SDSU education, fred's inspiration and life-long friendship, they made the naming gift in his honor.



Dr. Andrew Y.J. Szeto Makes Gift to the College of Engineering

The College of Engineering announced that Dr. Andrew Y.J. Szeto has made a \$50,000 gift to the Rehabilitative Engineering and Assistive Technology Program at SDSU to support travel, senior design projects, stipends, and etc. in the program. Dr.Andrew Y.J. Szeto is an Emeritus Professor for the Electrical & Computer Engineering Department.



Paul Stuverud Makes Gift to the College of Engineering

Paul Stuverud, '71 BSEE and '76 MSEE, has made an additional \$50,000 gift to the endowed scholarship fund "Paul Stuverud MESA Endowed Scholarship" he created in 2019. Grateful for his SDSU education that launched a successful career working in integrated circuit design, Paul hopes that his generosity can ease the financial burden of students today. Paul first started giving to the College shortly after he completed his Master's degree in 1976, supporting the College with annual gifts.

FACULTY AWARDS



Dr. Amir Alimohammad Receives the Sydney R. Parker **Best Paper Award**

Dr. Alimohammad and his former graduate student, Uday Korat, received the award for their journal article entitled, "A Reconfigurable Hardware Architecture for Principal Component Analysis", published in Springer Circuits, Systems, and Signal Processing.

Dr. Amir Alimohammad Receives the 2020 National Science Foundation (NSF) Award

The NSF awards Dr. Alimohammad to create a transformative brainimplantable processor fordrastically relaxing power-hungry wireless neural data transmission through the skull while directly controlling prosthetics in real-time, enabling the rehabilitation of millions of patients.



Dr. Duy H. N. Nguyen Receives Best Paper Award at IEEE **ICC 2020**

Dr. Duy H. N. Nguyen along with co-authors Dr. Lee Swindlehurst (UC Irvine) and Ly Van Nguyen (a UC Irvine/SDSU joint doctoral student) received the Best Paper Award at IEEE ICC 2020 for their paper on "SVM-

based Channel Estimation and Data Detection for Massive MIMO Systems with One-Bit ADCs".



Dr. Mahasweta Sarkar Awarded the Fulbright **Fellowship**

Dr. Sarkar has been awarded a fellowship under the Fulbright Specialist program, established by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational

and Cultural Affairs (ECA). This program pairs highly qualified U.S. academics and professionals with host institutions abroad to share their expertise, strengthen institutional linkages, hone their skills, gain international experience, and learn about other cultures while building capacity at their overseas host institutions.



Dr. Reza Sabzehgar Awarded the Best Paper Awardat IEEE Transportation Electrification Conference (ITEC)

Dr. Reza Sabzehgar along with co-authors S. Heydari, P. Fajri, and M. Shadmand received the Best Paper Award at IEEE Transportation Electrification

Conference (ITEC2020) for their paper on "Maximizing Harvested Energy through Regenerative Braking Process in Dual-Motor All-Wheel Drive Electric Vehicles".



Dr. Junfei Xie and Team Receives the Special Trackon Networked Computer on the Edge Award Congratulations to Dr. Junfei Xie (assistant professor, SDSU), Baoqian Wang (co-advisor, PhD student,SDSU), Ramiz Hanan, David Pierce Walker-Howell, and Leo Peralta (undergraduate students, SDSU) for winning the

award in the student design competition at the 2020 IEEE/ASME International Conference on Advanced Intelligent Mechatronics (AIM 2020).

RETIRED FACULTY

The Electrical and Computer Engineering Department would like to congratulate Dr. Madhu Gupta and Dr. Andrew Szeto on their retirement. Thank you for your dedication and many years of hard work and contributions.

From left to right: Dr. Madhu Gupta, Dr. Andrew Szeto



Giving to the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department