Satish Kumar Sharma

Name: Satish Kumar Sharma
Department: Electrical & Computer Engineering
Phone: (619)-594-0241
Office: E-202D
Website Personal Website Link

Satish Kumar Sharma received the B. Tech. degree from Kamla Nehru Institute of Technology, Sultanpur and the Ph. D. degree from Institute of Technology, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, both in Uttar Pradesh, India, in 1991 and 1997, respectively, both in Electronics Engineering. He holds 1 US Patent, 1 Canadian Patent, and has written 5 academic reports, around dozen industrial technical reports. Additionally, he has published and presented around 76 research papers in refereed journals and international conferences/symposia plus 10 un-refereed presentations. At SDSU, he has developed the Antenna Measurement Laboratory as part of the Antenna and Microwave Laboratory (AML). He currently advises 15 graduate students (Ph D and MS) on their thesis research related to the antenna theory and design, microwave devices and novel electromagnetic materials.

He is a Senior Member of IEEE and Professional Member of ASEE. He is a registered Professional Engineer (P. Eng.) in the Province of Manitoba, Canada. He is also full Member of USNC/URSI, Commission B, Field & Waves. He received NSF’s prestigious CAREER award in year 2009. He received the Young Scientist Award of URSI Commission B, Field & Waves, during URSI Triennial International Symposium on Electromagnetic Theory, Pisa, Italy in 2004. He is a reviewer of the research papers for IEEE Trans. on Antennas & Propagation, IEEE Trans. on Microwave & Theory Techniques, IEEE’s Antennas & Wireless Propagation Letters, and IET Journal on Microwaves, Antennas & Propagation journals, ETRI journal and other journals. He has reviewed research papers for the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society (IEEE AP-S) symposium, and ANTEM conferences, URSI GA 2008 and has served as Technical Program Committee Member for the IEEE AP-S and ANTEM. He has also served as Co-session chairs in IEEE AP-Symposium, ANTEM, URSI and EMTS conferences. He served on the steering committee of IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society Symposium 2008 as the student paper contest chair held in San Diego. He is currently serving on the steering committee of the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society’s IMS 2010. He is also serving on the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society’s sub-committee on Student Paper Contest part of the Education Committee.



Aerospace | Civil | Electrical | Mechanical | Search