Quick Links

Contact Information

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

San Diego State University
5500 Campanile Drive,
San Diego, CA 92182-1309
Main Office: (619) 594-5718
Fax: (619) 594-2654


Dr. Yusuf Ozturk received the prestigious Monty award. Each year, San Diego State University recognizes outstanding faculty and honors them for their contributions to teaching, research and community service. The award is a symbol of achievement and success presented to distinguished professors.

Dr. Yusuf Ozturk, Dr. Sunil Kumar, and Dr. Gordon Lee received a new grant from CIEE to develop a Real-Time Residential Energy Pricing System with Closed Loop Consumer Feedback,$197,355

Dr. Yusuf Ozturk and Dr. Kee Moon (collaborating with ETRI and RouteJD) received a new grant from KIAT for developing a Sustainable Power Module for Implantable Medical Devices Based on Wireless Power Transfer, $4,000,000

Dr. Sunil Kumar received a new grant from DOD Air Force Research Laboratory for research on Prioritized, QoS-aware Information Transmission Over Congested/Contested Wireless Mesh, $240,000

Prof. Ashkan Ashrafi received the Best Associate Editor Award from IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems, Part-I: Regular Papers in 2013.

Prof. Ashkan Ashrafi's, paper has been featured on Advances in Engineering “Optimized linear phase square-root Nyquist FIR filters for CDMA IS-95 and UMTS standards", , Signal Processing, Volume 93, Issue 4, Pages 866-873, 2013.

S. K. Sharma, L. Shafai and S. Rao, “Handbook of Reflector Antennas and Feed Systems", Volume I: Theory and Design of Reflectors”, Published by Artech House, USA, June, 2013


New Faculty:


Dr. Reza Sabzehgar has joined the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

- Assistant Professor

Research Field:
- Power Electronics
- Energy Harvesting
- Renewable Energies
- Control applications in Sustainable Energy Systems
- Mechatronics
- Mechatronics
- Electric/Hybrid Electric Vehicles